The Machines will Continue to Resist Me

I have long suspected that my microwave, bedside clock, office computer, and other machines that are supposed to behave in entirely predictable ways are resisting my demands. In particular, I swear that their clocks don’t keep proper time. Turns out, there may be a reason for this, at least in the future: “A yearlong experiment with the nation’s electric grid could mess up traffic lights, security systems and some computers — and make plug-in clocks and appliances like programmable coffeemakers run up to 20 minutes fast.” Okay, the machines are still predictable, but not by me! I hope they are exaggerating the potential effects, because it could drive me to the edge of sanity if my microwave clock continues to offer its own artistic interpretation of time!

Leave a Reply

